Jesus Blesses

In one of His first teachings, the Beatitudes in Matthew 5, Jesus’ reveals eternal revelations about knowing God.

The nine revelations all have glorious results and promises.

Jesus said “blessed” nine times.

“Blessed” literally means “happy” and “rich.” The Greek word for “blessed” is “makarioi,” which means “happy, rich, favored, fortunate.”

There are eight blessings and promises in all. They are:

1. The kingdom of heaven
2. Comfort, the Holy Spirit
3. Inherit the earth
4. Filled, with the Holy Spirit
5. Mercy
6. See God
7. Son of God
8. Great reward in heaven

Every promise is, just like the Almighty God and His Son Jesus, truly incomparable and beyond words.

The first promise, the kingdom of heaven, is the only revelation and promise a person needs to find eternal life and live forever, which is what God created them to do.

The first seven revelations seem to be a complete progression a person can experience in their relationship with God.

The final two deal with being persecuted.

Summary of the specific revelations, results and promises:

1. If someone is a “spiritual beggar,” God offers them the kingdom of heaven (Matthew 5:3).

2. If someone mourns over their sin, God comforts them (Matthew 5:4).

3. Those who are consecrated to God, who love Him with all they have, shall inherit the earth (Matthew 5:5).

4. Those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, shall be filled with the Holy Spirit (Matthew 5:6).

5. Those who are merciful shall receive mercy (Matthew 5:7).

6. Those having a single, pure devotion to God (“pure in heart”) shall see Him (Matthew 5:8).

7. Those who are peacemakers shall be called sons of God (Matthew 5:9).

8. Those who are persecuted for righteousness shall receive the kingdom of heaven (Matthew 5:10).

9. Those who are reviled and persecuted, and have all kinds of evil said against them falsely for Jesus’ sake, will have great reward in heaven (Matthew 5:11).

Just as with everything in our most holy faith, Jesus’ promises in this portion are priceless and beyond words . . . the Holy Spirit can reveal them.

Every promise is truly incomparable!

The results and promises are just like the Lord God Himself . . . .too wonderful to put into words.

It is fascinating that anyone can experience these revelations.

A person does not have to hear the teaching or the gospel to fulfill all seven.

Also, it is significant that the revelations are “progressive;” one leads to the next:

If a person is spiritually hungry, and they go directly to God, they will find Him and enter the kingdom. If they continue on with Him, they will live forever in the glory of heaven.

God will convict them of sin. They repent.

They have a relationship with God, which is the reason man was created.

They greatly desire Him, His ways and His righteousness. They find the Holy Spirit.

God empowers them to be merciful. They receive mercy from God.

The Holy Spirit empowers them to have a single devotion to God. He is their everything.

They will tell others about what God has done for them and given them.

Likely, they will be persecuted.

Thank you Jesus for making all this possible! 

Jesus said:

“Blessed are the poor in spirit,
For theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

4 Blessed are those who mourn,
For they shall be comforted.

5 Blessed are the meek,
For they shall inherit the [a]earth.

6 Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness,
For they shall be filled.

7 Blessed are the merciful,
For they shall obtain mercy.

8 Blessed are the pure in heart,
For they shall see God.

9 Blessed are the peacemakers,
For they shall be called sons of God. 

10 Blessed are those who are persecuted for righteousness’ sake,
For theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

11 Blessed are you when they revile and persecute you, and say all kinds of evil against you falsely for My sake. 12 Rejoice and be exceedingly glad, for great is your reward in heaven, for so they persecuted the prophets who were before you” (Matthew 5:3-12).